End of Season Awards for the Boys Cross Country Team


Courtesy of Jayme Skay

The Boys Cross Country team freshman pose with their certificates of completing a year of cross country.

Rachel Marsh, Reporter

On November 10, the boys cross-country team celebrated their season with their annual award ceremony. Many of the athletes went home with awards that night (see below). The boy’s coaches gave out awards, many of which are named after alumni or people who were influential to the program.

Some awards are voted on by the team like Most Valuable Runner, others are selected by the coaches from the list of names that the team votes for as possible MVR or most improved awards. The number [of awards] each year depends on how many we have on the team and as the team grew so did the number of awards,” said Head Coach Jayme Skay.

Apart from individual awards, the team also gave out Varsity Letter certificates and other certificates based on grade level. There were freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior certificate honorees, so everyone went home with something. There were also 26 Mississippi Valley Conference All-Academic Awards handed out. The night ended with five Grit Awards and seven Dedicated XC Runner Certificates awarded. 


The full list of individual honorees: 

Prefontaine Guts: Matt Taylor ‘20

Zatopek Endurance: Mitchell Wilkes ‘20

Dirk Marple Determined: Elliot Dunwald ‘22

David McKay Gold: Lohman Provorse ‘22

Bo Rydze Excellence: Braeden Marker ‘23

Brook Price Competitive: Ford Washburn ‘23

Bud Williams Intestinal Fortitude: Caden Turnbough ‘20

Steve Maresh Focused: Noah Hartwig ‘21

David Rogers XC Spirit: Noah Weaver ‘20

Coaches Award: AJ Seamans ‘20

Coaches Award: Evan McElroy ‘20

Most Valuable Runner: Lance Smith ‘21

Great Friends of City High XC: Lisa and Jim Turnbough